Nibbiaia is the only hamlet of the Municipality that cannot boast ancient origins. It was born as rural settlement in the second half of the eighteenth century along the ancient ridgeway of Vajolo, which leads from Castelnuovo to the sea near Quercianella. The grand-ducal provisions of 1782 had forced Pia Casa della Misericordia di Pisa to grant its tenures under a lease, also with the obligation to build houses for farmers. The new buildings were distributed in six groups throughout the territory.
Over time, with the construction of new buildings along the main roads, including many houses for shepherds, the different groups were joined and the hamlet took on the present appearance. Logging and tillage for the cultivation of new lands took place during the nineteenth century and until the first decades of the twentieth century. The result of these operations has left many traces in the agricultural landscape, which is still characterized by long fields and live fences that served as borders.
This hamlet offers quality agricultural products and a growing agritourism activity. It can boast some of the most beautiful landscapes of the Tuscan coast, crossed by picturesque hiking trails and a bridle-path that starts from Nibbiaia and curls along the entire area.